^Top of Page

Nuacht Archive

Comórtas Díospóireachta an Phiarsaigh 2018-two Tipperary teams win regional titles !

Comórtas Díospóireachta an Phiarsaigh 2018-two Tipperary teams  win regional titles !
Debating teams from Thurles and from Tipperary Town are celebrating following their victory at a Regional Final of Comórtas an Phiarsaigh Gael Linn 2018. The event took place in the Firgrove Hotel, Mitchelstown on Thursday, 25 January. Comórtas an Phiarsaigh is a national debating competition organized annually by Gael Linn for second level schools nationwide, with funding from Foras na Gaeilge.

Participating in the junior section of the competition were teams from St. Brendan’s College, Killarney, Christ King Girls’ Secondary School, Cork, John the Baptist Community School, Hospital and Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles. They debated the motion ‘Táimid go maith in Éirinn ag pleanáil don todhchaí!’ ( or that ‘We in Ireland are good at planning for the future !’ ), and many strong arguments were put forward on both sides. All the teams achieved a high standard of debating. The adjudicators, however, agreed that the young Thurles orators were marginally ahead of the other teams on the night, and they were declared winners, to the delight of teacher, Áine de Barra and Beartla Ó Dochartaigh .

Teams from Coláiste Íde agus Iosef, Abbeyfeale, Laurel Hill Secondary School, Limerick, St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary Town and Sacred Heart College, Carrignavar, contested the senior debate. This time, the teams had a chance to air their views on the topical motion, ‘Tugann na mórmheáin chumarsáide in Éirinn léargas cruinn ar a bhfuil ag tarlú!’ ( The mass media in Ireland give a true account of what’s happening ! ), and unsurprisingly, there were plenty of allusions to ‘fake news’ throughout! Again, choosing the winners posed a challenge for the adjudicators, but in the end, it was the Tipperary Town talkers who emerged victorious. Teachers Máire Ní hAodha and Niamh Ní Riain have mentored the team through the various heats to this regional success.

Recognising the high standard of debating achieved by all the participants, Gael Linn presented awards to each speaker on the night. The winners, Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles and St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary Town , now progress to the All Ireland Final of the competition, due to take place in March. Comhghairdeas leo !


< View All News